April 9, 2008

A Reminder



A reminder that, though we often associate religious extremists with the fringes of society, stereotyping them as nothing more than the ignorant and close-minded base of the Republican party, you will find that this mentality crosses many boundaries. What would make a supposedly progressive-minded state legislator spew this kind of bile? Religion. Her statement that, "It's dangerous for our children to even know your philosophy exists!" sums up the problem that we Freethinkers face in this society. We are not hated just for disagreeing. We are loathed and feared because we exist.

Michael

9 comments:

Cloudberry said...

Fantastic! He calls for Illinois State Representative Monique Davis to publicly apologize or step down--I think she should do both, and the sooner the better. But I am so glad he countered her "Land of Lincoln" defense with "Lincoln was accused of being an atheist." I never knew that. Anyone know where to find it referenced, besides here?

Josh said...

I heard about this a couple days ago. I don't think that news story does it justice.

Listen to the actual audio here

It's really stunning (and frightening) just how angry she is.

Cloudberry said...

Representative Monique D. Davis (D)
27th District

Photograph of Representative Monique D. Davis (D)

Springfield Office:
241-E Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0010
(217) 782-1795 FAX
District Office:
1234 West 95th Street
Chicago, IL 60643
(773) 445-9700
(773) 445-5755 FAX
Cook County

Years served: 1987 - Present

Committee assignments: Committee of the Whole; Public Utilities; Financial Institutions; Elementary & Secondary Education (Vice-Chairperson); State Government Administration; Appropriations-General Service (Chairperson); Gaming; Juvenile Justice Reform; Appropriations-Higher Education; Disparities in Educational Achievem.

Biography: Educational administrator; born in Chicago; B.S., elementary education; M.S., worked on doctorate at Roosevelt University, guidance and counseling; received Dollars and Sense award for legislative excellence as one of the 100 best and brightest professionals in the country, 1990; listed in Who's Who in African American Biography, 1988-93; has two children.


Associated Senator(s): Emil Jones, Jr.

MarkT said...

"It's dangerous for our children to even know your philosophy exists!"

Sorry, Rep. Monique Davis... our "philosophy" does indeed exist, and the children will know.

Faith vs. the Faithless- a culture war, ay? As much as I'd rather just be friends... count me in!

Manya said...

Most likely due to all the links to the mainstream articles from atheist blogs, the comments sections on the mainstream articles are mostly intelligent and anti-davis.

She would be out in hours. The most offensive thing she said was he didn't have a right to be in court testifying. That is so blatantly unAmerican. I said at the last meetup, I am not offended by criticism of my ideas, but I *am* offended when people say atheists don't deserve to live here or are bad for America.

BTW Rep Davis- if your philosophy is obviously right, you should have nothing to fear by exposing children to ours. I've never known an atheist who tried to shield their children from learning about others' beliefs. Wonder why that is.

Manya said...

ETA- second paragraph, meant to include, if she had said that about some other more accepted group.

kate spade outlet said...

Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes Hermes Belt UGG Boots UGG Boots Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Online North Face Outlet Store North Face Store The North Face Outlet Louis Vuitton Factory Outlet Louis Vuittons Handbags Louis Vuittons Outlet Online Timberland Boots Cheap Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Tory Burch Outlet Store Tory Burch Outlet Online Tory Burch Outlet North Face Outlet Store Canada Goose Jackets Canada Goose Outlet Oakley Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Outlet Store The North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Polo Ralph Lauren Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com